Google Maps has a new feature that allows users to share their real-time location with other people. You can tell others where you are located and even share your trip progress if you are en route to a location. As a REALTOR®, you may find this feature very useful when meeting with clients or colleagues, but it is also important to know when it is and it isn’t a safe time to share your location. Luckily, you can share your location for a set amount of time — a helpful feature for those that are prone to forgetting to turn the feature off.

To get started, make sure you have the Google Maps app on your smartphone. (Android / iPhone)

To access location sharing, tap the  icon in the top left and select “Share Location”. From there, you can add people and choose how long you want to share your location. It’s that simple! For more detailed instructions, visit this Google Maps Help Page. Google also created a short video (below) to explain the functionality of the new feature: